Copper and Chaos

Agility adventures

Blue Power

My last post involved the issues with my dog’s ears. It’s frustrating BUT I think I finally found the solution. Blue Power. What is it, you ask? Well, it’s a little solution you put in your dog’s ears& it kills off the yeast. I had little faith because none of the stuff the vet gave me worked. Considering it cost a total of $12 to get all the stuff needed to make several batches, I figured I’d give it a shot. It’s working. Incredibly well! Now, who wants to recipe to make this magical solution?

I took a photo AND labeled it. You can thank me later!

I took a photo AND labeled it. You can thank me later!

The three things in the photo above are the only ingredients in it. Simple, right? Also, all can be purchased in your pharmacy. Call ahead to make sure they have gentian violet- some keep it in stock, others special order it. I got mine from Wal-Mart pharmacy if it matters any. The website that lists it is here. The original link has a lot of good, but additional, information on it& is worth checking out. As always, make sure you know it is yeast& not something else going on before starting treatment. On to the actual preparation of the solution!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 16 Oz. bottle of Isopropyl Alcohol (standard 70%)
  • 4 Tablespoons of Boric Acid Powder
  • 16 Drops of Gentian Violet Solution 1%

Then just mix together in the actual alcohol bottle (IF you got the 16 ounce bottle. I didn’t and therefore had to measure 16 oz& use a pop bottle. I am not smart.) and shake well. Also, my Gentian Violet didn’t come with a dropper so I sort of just guessed at it. I probably wouldn’t recommend this so make sure you ask if you can get a bottle with a dropper top!

*Fair warning: Gentian Violet is a dye. It stains everything. Especially before it is diluted in the alcohol. Prepare the solution on an old towel or folded paper towels. If you have a crazy dog, lock it up during this part. Also, every time you go to use it, you will need to shake it. The Boric Acid settles to the bottom.

Once the solution is made, you need a way to get it into your dogs ears. This part sucks if you have a dog like Penny. I transfer the solution to a 15mL syringe& power bomb it into her ear. I also wouldn’t suggest this, especially if you have a gentle dog. You can use a syringe, hair dye bottle, anything like that. Also, warm it up by placing it in a container of hot water for a few minutes. It’s kinder on their ears.

SCHEDULE:

  • Twice a day for the first two weeks
  • Once a day for the third week
  • Once a month (or less, depending on the dog) after that.

There you have it. That is Blue Power in a shortened version of the original link. Now, if anyone can offer any suggestions for how to encourage my dog to not want to kill me in my sleep post-drops, I’m all ears (pun totally intended!). I’m at a loss aside from clicker training& that seems exhausting. I’d rather have a speedier suggestion since we’re currently fighting to (nearly) death twice a day. Looking forward to when it’s less than once a month. Hilarious side-effect of this treatment?

Their ears change colors! This makes me laugh frequently.

Their ears change colors! This makes me laugh frequently.

So, if your pup has yeasty ears. Stop going to the vet. Make this. Then, come back& let me know if you had success. It seriously worth the effort of mixing up the solution. It seems like it’s going to last a very long time& it only took about 10 minutes to do, once I had all the ingredients!

One comment on “Blue Power

  1. Pingback: Ear update | Copper and Chaos

Thoughts here!

Information

This entry was posted on December 12, 2013 by in Reviews and tagged , , , .
